top of page
No tags yet.

Very Berry Coconut Scones

I'm just going to give you a heads up by saying this is NOT oil free. I had a craving for scones because I honestly couldn't remember the last time I had one. It has been longer than two years because I don't ever recall having one that was vegan. I used a basic recipe that wasn't vegan, and tweaked it A LOT. So I'm bringing you, what I think to be the best scones I have ever tasted. It's pretty strange, I have never made scones in my entire life before. And I tweaked the recipe a ton for my preferences, but they came out absolutely perfect. I used three different types of flour for this recipe because I really like do the texture that all the flour brings, but if you want to just use regular unbleached ap flour, go right ahead. For the butter, I used Miyokos cultured vegan butter, which isn't available everywhere but we don't use things with palm oil. If you can't find it, feel free to use whatever vegan butter you can find. I hope you make these, they are so delicious and probably the perfect combination of slightly sweet and soft and crumbly. I don't know what it is, but coconut and berries just go so well together. Enjoy!

3/4 cup white rice flour

3/4 cup coconut flour

1 1/2 cup unbleached all purpose flour

4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2/3 cup cold vegan butter, cubed

1 cup of your favorite freeze dried fruit (I used half raspberries, half blueberries)

1 cup coconut cream, from one can of full fat coconut milk (refrigerated overnight)

1/2 cup date syrup

1/4 cup maple syrup

  1. Preheat your oven to 425 degrees fahrenheit. Line a baking sheet with a silpat or some parchment paper.

  2. In a blender, combine your coconut cream, date syrup, and maple syrup. Fold in your freeze dried berries and set aside.

  3. In a large bowl, combine your flours, baking powder, and salt. Cut in the butter by either using a food processor, or a pastry cutter, or you can do what I did and use a whisk (it actually worked very well).

  4. Add your wet ingredients to your dry ingredients, and combine until three quarters of the way mixed.

  5. Flour your surface, and turn the scone mix onto it. Lightly knead the dough until everything is just combined.

  6. Transfer the dough to your prepared baking sheet and form it into a 1-inch thick rectangle.

  7. Slice the dough into eight equal sized triangles. Arrange them on the baking tray with plenty of space in between them.

  8. Bake them for 15-18 minutes, or until the scones become golden brown and have risen slightly.

  9. Once they are done transfer them to a cooling rack immediately or they will continue to cook.

  10. You can leave them as is, or combine more date syrup and maple syrup together, and spoon it on the top like a glaze. I highly recommend doing that!

  11. Enjoy!


ARCHIVE
RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
bottom of page