top of page
No tags yet.

Super-food Smoothie

This baby is packed with so many nutrients, you'll be full for the entire morning and it'll give you more energy than you get from your normal smoothie. I used to add spinach into my smoothie, and while it did the trick to alkalize my body, spinach goes bad fast, especially if you live in high altitude. I saw some people using greens powder, and did some research for myself. Yesterday, I went to my local health food store, and picked one up. I am so much more than impressed with the taste. It tastes like sweet berries and greens. I love it. And this smoothie is the perfect combination, you won't even mind that you're drinking grass. The type of greens powder I bought was Greens Plus, Superfood Wild Berry. You can try the chocolate, or raw version as well but I can't say how those taste seeing as I am a huge fan of berry, and chocolate upsets my colon. If you decide you just want to leave the greens powder out, that is fine too. But I highly recommend you get some! There's so many wonderful delicious and healthy ingredients. It was around $25 where I live, and that's less than $1 per serving, so it's so worth it.

Smoothie:

1/2 cup rolled oats

1 tbsp white buckwheat

1 tbsp coconut flour

1 scoop wild berry greens powder

1 tbsp chia seeds

1 tbsp hemp hearts

1/2 cup mashed avocado

1 ripe banana

1 frozen banana

1/4 cup frozen mango

5 dates (I used deglet noor)

juice of 1/2 a lemon

1 tbsp molasses

1 cup non-dairy milk (I used Calafia's Vanilla Almond Milk)

more liquid like water or juice depending on how you like your smoothie

Add all the ingredients into your blender and blend. I used a nutrininja so I have a self serve cup. I make this smoothie at least twice a week for my boyfriend to take to work with him, he says it keeps him a lot more full than the normal smoothies I used to give him. He doesn't even notice the greens powder!

You can, of course, double the recipe if you are really hungry, or if you have more than one person that you want to feed.

Here are the vitamin and mineral facts, according to how I made it. I didn't factor in the greens powder nutrition because it is so blatantly stated on the back of the container, and I know not everyone who tries this recipe will go out and buy some.

Potassium 2420 mg Protein 25 g Fiber 27 g Iron 47% Calcium 56% Vitamin B6 107% Vitamin A 8% Vitamin C 159% Magnesium 31% Phosphorus 15% Zinc 6% Manganese 36%

I hope you enjoy!


ARCHIVE
RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
bottom of page